Au Revoir…

21 Feb

Image

It happened a little earlier than I expected but Saco River Yarns is officially closed to the public. Building 13, where Saco RIver Yarns is located is undergoing rapid expansion and construction.  The winter has been unbelievably snowy.  Downtown Biddeford is getting busier and busier and parking is at a premium.  People have been parking in the lot in front of Building 13 to access all downtown businesses but this is creating issues for businesses located in Building 13 as shipments cannot be delivered by tractor trailer due to the crowded parking lot.

Therefore management has found it necessary to enforce permit only parking.  Violators will be booted and it costs $40.00 to have the boot removed.  To serve my customers parking needs and prevent anyone else from being booted, I would be required to purchase dedicated parking spots.  I am only in my store until the 28th of this month.

So it is with a heavy heart I say farewell.

Thank you to all the amazing, wonderful people I have had the privilege to meet.  I have learned from you and my life is richer for having known you even if for a very short time.  I truly hope that our paths will cross again someday either locally or at a fiber event.

It had always been my dream to own a yarn store.  I’m very grateful to all who made that dream possible.  It was one of the most significant learning experiences of my life and while I am closing this chapter, I would not re-write it for anything in the world.

Moving forward, I am still very hopeful that someone will be interested in purchasing the business to keep it going.  There is a deep and rich fiber-related community in this area and I believe in the year I was in business, its surface was merely scratched.  Keep your fingers crossed and by all means contact me if you are seriously interested.  The Facebook page, this blog, Twitter, the new e-mail address: sacoriveryarns14@gmail.com, will all remain open for a bit.

All my best,

Lisa

3 Responses to “Au Revoir…”

  1. tal February 22, 2014 at 1:00 am #

    oh lisa, so sad to see you and the shop go! you were a highlight of my summer vacation in nearby ocean park this past year. may we meet again sometime, somewhere soon. the very best to you in your next endeavor whatever it may be!

  2. Linda Converse February 22, 2014 at 2:21 am #

    yes, owning a business in downtown Biddeford is a rewarding but sometimes fleeting experience. In the 2.5 years my daughter Ellen and I owned and ran Oh Baby Café and catering, we met the most wonderful people and that is what we miss most. I feel your pain at having to close. While our experience was one of the most rewarding periods of our lives, it was also the most painful when we had to close. We live in Portland now, but I come back to Biddeford weekly, and I still feel like it’s home! Good luck in any future endeavors. Linda Converse

    • hidingfromthekids May 21, 2014 at 10:15 am #

      Thank you Linda. The store was an unexpected opportunity that will forever be one of the best things I ever dared to do. I appreciate your kind words.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 680 other followers

